How long is a head of cabbage good for?

A head of cabbage can last weeks. You can tell if it is usable if it feels solid and the outer leaves do not look wilted. Store whole heads of cabbage in a plastic bag in the refrigerator. A cut head of cabbage will spoil more quickly and should probably be used within a few days.