What makes up the united kingdom?

The United Kingdom comprises the whole of the island of Great Britain—which contains England, Wales, and Scotland—as well as the northern portion of the island of Ireland. The name Britain is sometimes used to refer to the United Kingdom as a whole.

---

The United Kingdom is made up of the constituent countries England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.