What's the highest belt in karate?

In many ways, the black karate belt symbolizes the end. The darkness that exists after a sun has set and a plant has been harvested. The student who has completed their transformation from unknowing and unskilled white belt into a mature and wise black belt.

---

In traditional karate the highest belt is the 10th dan, which is indicated by a solid red belt. Some styles do not go above 8th dan and use a red belt for one of the lower levels.