Why do tornadoes come?

A tornado forms from large thunderstorms. Inside thunderclouds, warm, humid air rises, while cool air falls. This can create spinning air currents inside the cloud. The spinning currents start out horizontal, but can turn vertical and drop down from the cloud--becoming a tornado.