What is it mean when a dog is shaking?

Pets may shiver or shake for many reasons—pain, fear, anxiety, nerves, or simply being too cold. There is even an endocrine disorder called Addison's disease which can cause excessive shivering as well. We often see dogs shiver and shake during thunderstorms or July 4th fireworks.