Do fire ants sleep?

Queen fire ants fall into relatively long, deep sleeps for an average of 9 hours every day. workers sleep just half as much and get to rest by taking hundreds of short power naps. This division of rest may help explain why queens live for years, while worker ants typically only live for months.