Why do we have shoes?

There are numerous reasons for the wearing of shoes. We wear them to protect our feet from the elements when the ground beneath us is too cold or too hot for our soles to withstand. Our outside world is not usually soft and smooth so our shoes become a barrier between it and our feet.