What's a submarine safe?

The Submarine Safety Program is a quality assurance program of the United States Navy designed to maintain the safety of its submarine fleet; specifically, to provide maximum reasonable assurance that submarine hulls will stay watertight and that they can recover from unanticipated flooding.