What's the population of the san francisco metro area?

The San Francisco area is officially categorized as the San Francisco–Oakland–Berkeley, CA Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). In 2019 it had an estimated population of 4,731,803, a 9.1% increase over the official 2010 census count.