What is food grade lye?

food-grade lye is sodium hydroxide and is used for giving pretzels their characteristic deep golden color. Lye is highly caustic and must be handled with protective gloves and goggles in a well ventilated area. Lye typically comes in a solid form and must be diluted prior to use.