What is mono nucleus?

Mononucleosis, often called mono or kissing disease, is an infection with the Epstein-Barr virus. People with mono often have a high fever, swollen lymph glands in the neck and armpits, and a sore throat. Most cases of mono are mild and resolve easily with minimal treatment in 1 to 2 months.