Who is in charge before george washington?

John Jay (President of the Continental Congress, 1778-1779) Served as the first Chief Justice of the United States, John Hancock(president twice, both under pre-1789 systems) served as Governor of Massachusetts and Thomas McKean (President under the Articles, 1781) served as Governor of Pennsylvania

---

King George