What does a prothonotary do?

A prothonotary is a public officer of some jurisdictions. It is defined as the officer who officiates as principal clerk of the courts; and the clerk is defined as an officer of the court who keeps its records, keeps the great seal, issues processes, enters judgment and orders and certifies records.