Are gopros waterproof?

Yes, all current GoPro models (Hero8, Max, Hero7, Hero7, and Hero5) are all waterproof. They don't require an additional case for depths up to 33 feet (10 meters), with the exception of the Max – which is waterproof to just 16 feet (5 meters).