Is cookies a candy?

Cookies generally contain flour as one of their ingredients. Candy typically does not. Some products cross that line (e.g. candy bars that contain flour-based cookies as an ingredient), but those products are usually considered to be candy.

---

No, cookies are considered a pastry.

---

No. Cookies are baked goods typically eaten as a snack or dessert. Candy comes in many forms but is often bite-sized with sugar as the primary ingredient.