What are the mushrooms in mario called?

In the Mario Series, there are roughly 78 different types of Mushrooms. The red and white spotted mushroom in the game is known as the Super Mushroom. 1-Up Mushrooms are green and white Mushrooms that give your character an extra life when they eat one. Goombas are a species of brown mushrooms.