What's the cheese that stinks?

The quintessential "stinky cheese" you're thinking of is probably Limburger, but there are many others. Generally, washed-rind cheeses are stinky because they have bacterial growth on the surface. They ripen from the outside in, unlike many other cheeses that ripen from the inside out.