Where did the saying mind your p.'s and q.'s come from?

Bartenders would keep a watch on the alcohol consumption of the patrons, keeping an eye on the pints and quarts that were consumed. The bartender would advise patrons to “mind their Ps and Qs” as a warning about drinking too much.