How much alcohol is in a handle?

There are 40 shots in a handle of liquor. The average shot glass holds 1.75 ounces of liquor, and 1 handle holds 1.75 liters of liquor. 1 liter equals 33.814 ounces of liquor., and 1.75 liters equals 59.1745 ounces. Divide that number by 1.5 (size of a standard shot glass) and you have 40 shots.