What causes mushrooms to grow in your yard?

Lawn mushrooms are a sign of beneficial microbes at work in your lawn, which is all part of your lawn’s ecosystem. The presence of mushrooms is a sign that the soil is healthy. Living soils have the presence of billions of beneficial microbes and are teeming with bacteria, fungi, and earth worms.