Can you move backwards in chess?

Yes, almost all pieces can move forward and backward, except for pawns. Pawns must move all the way to the other side of the board before they may move backwards. But at the point, it might be promoted to either a queen, bishop, rook or knight, and thus it won't be a pawn anymore.