How do you get sharpie out of a backpack?

Spray hairspray directly onto the stain to thoroughly dampen the area; press down with a clean cloth to blot out the hairspray and ink; continue doing this until you lighten or remove the ink; dab the area with a wet cloth. Blot dry. Dab rubbing alcohol onto the stain if any marks remain. Blot dry.