Can you substitute chili powder for cayenne pepper?

Chili powder is an acceptable substitute for cayenne, as it consists of a variety of chili peppers that have been dried and ground. However, it is often made from darker red peppers that are sometimes smoked, so test your chili powder before using it, as it may alter the flavor of your recipe.