What happened in the year twenty thirteen?

In the year 2013, notable things that happened were: George Zimmerman was acquitted; the US government shut down for 16 days; the US Supreme Court cleared the way for gay marraige; 2 bombs exploded near the finish line of the Boston Marathon; Edward Snowden leaked information to the press.