Why are people buried six feet under?

The phrase "six feet under" is traced back to England in 1665, when a plague outbreak led the mayor of London to enact a law for graves to be at least 6 feet deep to limit the spread of disease. Today, bodies are not actually buried 6 feet underground, but laws exist to mandate burial requirements.