Is the white house color washington snow?

According to the White House historical society… The White House was initially coated with lime-based whitewash in 1798. Today, Duron’s “Whisper White” is used, and takes 570 gallons of paint to cover the exterior. During restorations, the paint is often stripped from the sandstone and re-applied.