How are earth quakes formed?

Earthquakes are usually caused when rock underground suddenly breaks along a fault. This sudden release of energy causes seismic waves that make the ground shake. When two blocks of rock or two plates are rubbing against each other, they stick a little. When the rocks break, the earthquake occurs.