What kind of gas does a boat take?

It varies depending upon the specific boat engine so a single answer is not available. Commercial boats will use one of two major types of fuel: marine gas oil (MGO) and marine diesel oil (MDO). Small putt-putt fishing engines may take a mix of gasoline and oil.