What was the tallest man's name?

Guinness World Records deemed Robert Wadlow as the tallest man in the world, "of whom there is irrefutable evidence". When last measured on 27 June 1940, the mild-mannered American stretched a staggering 2.72 m (or 8 ft, 11.1 inches) tall.