What is an extended structure?

(1) In chemistry, an extended structure consists of a basic building block repeated over and over. Example: salt crystal sodium chloride (2) Any idea, object, plan, or construction that has been enlarged or increased beyond its original plan or dimensions. Examples: A room addition to a building.