What does lava taste like?

Mostly once cooled all volcanic rocks have a non taste.Freshly cooled lava can have smell and taste from roasted trees and other organics that it burned up. Consider that Hawaiian lava cooled in the ocean might taste salty unless the salt was washed away with rain water.