What is a cadillac converter do?

Catalytic converters are pollution control devices first required on cars in the U.S. in 1975. They induce a chemical reaction between oxygen and common pollutants in engine exhaust, like carbon monoxide and unburned hydrocarbons, to form safer byproducts like carbon dioxide and water vapor.