Do cantaloupes ripen after they're picked?

Yes, cantaloupes continue to ripen after picked. These melons can be left intact at room temperature to further ripen. One test for ripeness is to press your thumb on the melon’s “button”. The flesh (of the melon, not your thumb) should have some give. This end should also be fragrant.