When were plastic straws invented?

The plastic straw came into use after World War II but it was not the first time a straw had been used. In fact, the first known straws were used by the Sumerians back around 3000 BC. Their straw was a gold tube inlaid with lapis lazuli, a semi-precious blue metamorphic rock.