How did the popsickle get it's name?

Frank Epperson patented "frozen ice on a stick" in 1923 and started making what he called "Eppsicles" and his children soon termed them "Popsicles." A year later, Epperson sold his patent to the Joe Lowe Co. The novelties soon took off like wildfire. These days, the brand name is owned by Unilever.