Which football player invented the gritty?

Allen Davis, as a high school football player, was inspired by the Nae Nae to make his own dance. Davis created The Griddy and uploaded videos to YouTube showing it off. He introduced the dance to one of his best friends and teammate, future Cincinnati Bengals wide receiver Ja'Marr Chase.