Are ice cream cartons recyclable?

In some states ice cream cartons are accepted for recycling but not all states. The polyethylene coating in the cartons poses a recycling challenge because the process for recycling paper involves adding water to turn it into pulp. The polyethylene is water resistant and prevents the process.