Why is b. t. s. called b. t. s.?

The name of the Korean boy band BTS stands for the Korean expression Bangtan Sonyeondan, literally meaning "Bulletproof Boy Scouts". In July 2017, BTS announced that their name would also stand for "Beyond the Scene" as part of their new brand identity