How do you clean a french press?

Add a few drops of liquid dish soap to the carafe with some water, then plunge the plunger up and down until it gets nice and bubbly. Dump out the soapy water, rinse and plunge again until the water runs clean. Clean each piece individually with a mix of baking soda and water. When dry, reassemble.