Who created the first convertible?

The first convertible was a retractable top developed in 1922 by Ben P. Ellerbeck. The hardtop was operated manually on a Hudson coupe but never saw production. Five years later, in 1927, that feature was brought to market by many manufacturers like Buick, Chrysler, Cadillac, Lincoln, and others.