What will happen to our sun?

In about 5 billion years, it will burn enough fuel to start making heavy elements, including iron. It will become a red giant, expanding to nearly the orbit of Earth. It will then collapse in a nova, becoming a white dwarf. As it cools, it will become a cold, dark brown dwarf.