What is a banana cream pie paradox?

From a Captain Underpants book. A scientist makes a banana cream pie with banana from a specific tree then goes back in time. Due to a series of unfortunate events the banana tree is destroyed. Therefore it could never mature to produce the bananas used in the pie and therefore the pie never existed