What are the four basic sauces?

There are 5 “mother” sauces in French cuisine. These are the foundation (aka “mother”) for many other sauces. These are: Béchamel, Velouté, Espagnole, Tomato and Hollandaise. There are also condiment type sauces like hot sauce, cheese sauce and BBQ sauce.