When was gold discovered?

Gold has probably always been on earth. It was likely introduced when a early gatherer/hunter came to drink water and saw gold nuggets near the water’s bed. This discovery was repeated many times around the world. Gold was rare and therefore valuable. Believed to be our first introduction to metals.