Is the movie nineteen seventeen based on the true story?

The film 1917, written by Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Caims is based on a story told to Mendes from his paternal grandfather, but in August 2019 Mendes stated that he enlarged it significantly.

---

No. The movie 1917 is a fictional story that takes place during WWI.