Who invented candy?

Candy has been in existence for thousands of years. The first recorded candies came from Egypt in around 2000 BCE and consisted of fruits and nuts mixed with honey

---

The origin of candy can be traced to the ancient Egyptians who combining fruits and nuts with honey. Around the same time, Greeks used honey to make candied fruits and flowers. First modern candies were made in 16th century and manufacturing developed during the early 19th century.