What does it mean when there's a ring around the sun?

A halo around the sun is a fairly common phenomenon. It is typically caused when there are very high, very thin clouds. These clouds, being so high in the sky, are made from ice crystals. The properties of the ice crystals reflect and refract light in such a way as to cause a ring around the sun.