What's the difference between a white onion and a red onion?

The flavor. White onions are usually hotter than red onions, which are very mild.

---

While white onions find a dedicated place in Mexican cuisine, most European and Asian countries prefer the red ones owing their bright hue and their full-bodied flavour. Red onions are almost a staple in South East Asian countries like India, Pakistan and Bangladesh.