Is a legume considered a vegetable?

Yes, a legume is a vegetable, A legume refers to any plant from the Fabaceae family that includes peanuts and all types of beans, lentils and peas. If a plant has a pod, or flexible shell around it's seeds, that is a legume. A pea pod is a legume, but the pea inside the pod is a seed.