How did the drummer of def leppard lose his arm?

Rick Allen lost his arm resulting from a car crash on Dec 31 1984. The crash occurred when Allen was speeding on a conear Sheffield, England. He crashed through a stone wall and flipped his car several times. Allen was ejected from the vehicle, and told the BBC, "I think my arm was left in the car."